Unexamined Assumption: Fear of anything is fear of everything

Taken from https://www.facebook.com/ConservativesAreDestroyingOurFuture/photos/a.1011033115579692.1073741834.620332914649716/964262030256801/?type=1&theater

The unexamined assumption here is that gun owners fear everything. Try this with a less emotional tool for emergency use: “I don’t own a fire extinguisher because I don’t live in fear that everyone and everything is combustible”.

This is ridiculous – the realistic statement would be “I don’t own a fire extinguisher because I don’t live in fear that anything in my house would catch on fire”, or “I have a fire extinguisher because some things in my house might catch on fire”. Which of the two last statements is a more accurate description of reality is left to the reader’s judgement.

Leave a Reply

